THIS MONTH ONLY: FREE CURRICULUM BOOKS with your Annual CatholicBrain Subscription. Upgrade now Register Now

Liturgical Calender

The Holy Name of Mary

On September 12th the Church celebrates the Feast of the Holy Name of Mary. In 1684, Pope Innocent XI added it to the liturgical calendar to commemorate the Battle of Vienna.

The Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception

The Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception celebrates Mary being free from the stains of original sin from the very first moment of her life.

Immaculate Heart of Mary

Every year the feast of the Immaculate Heart of Mary is celebrated on the Saturday after the feast of the Sacred Heart.

The Queenship of Mary

On August 22nd, the church honors Mary's title as Queen. This feast day is called the Queenship of Mary.

The Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity

The Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity, also known as Trinity Sunday, is celebrated every year on the first Sunday after Pentecost.

The Annunciation

The feast of the Annunciation celebrates the day the Angel Gabriel appeared to Mary and announced that she was to be the mother of the Messiah, Jesus.

The Ascension

Forty days after Jesus' Resurrection, He ascended, or rose up, into heaven to be with His Father.


Ten days after Jesus ascended into heaven, the Holy Spirit came down upon the Apostles just as Jesus had promised them. This special day of the Church is called Pentecost and is also known as the “Birthday of the Church.”

Corpus Christi

On the feast of Corpus Christi the Church is celebrating the real presence of Jesus in the Holy Eucharist.

The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

When Mary's time on earth was done, she was taken by the power of God, or assumed, into heaven both her soul and her body.

The Exaltation of the Cross

The symbol that is most associated with Jesus is the cross. After Jesus was crucified, the cross, which was once a sign of suffering and humiliation, became a sign of victory and love.

All Saints Day

All Saints Day is a holy day of the Catholic Church that celebrates all people who have died and are now with God in heaven.

The Solemnity of Christ the King

The Solemnity of Christ the King